PRSWDD to consider town withdrawal offers

by Nancy Beal

The Pleasant River Solid Waste Disposal District (PRSWDD) board of directors met late Monday, July 13 and had in hand the latest withdrawal proposal from two towns that are opting to bow out of the six-town trash cooperative formed in the 1990s after state regulations outlawed municipal landfills. The withdrawing towns are Jonesport and Columbia Falls. Still active in PRSWDD are Addison, Beals and Jonesboro. Columbia voted last month to get out, but formal negotiations around that move are pending.

Related Posts
Rotary Reading At Rose Gaffney
Fourth of July in Machias
Machias Valley News Observer recognized at Maine press awards