Columbia votes to withdraw from PRSWDD

by Nancy Beal

In a 14-8 vote June 8, the town of Columbia voted to withdraw from the Pleasant River Solid Waste Disposal District (PRSWDD). The move puts Columbia in company with Jonesport and Columbia Falls, which began the process a year ago with similar town meeting votes, and represents the loss of 10.3 percent of PRSWDD’s operating revenue. When completed, the withdrawal of the three towns will leave Addison, Beals and Jonesboro as the sole members of the disposal district.

Related Posts
Barbara Mae Farnsworth Bell - Waterville
Navy veteran proud to be descendent of Roger Williams
Rep. Fredette visits Downeast Correctional Facility